March 18-2019
ComicCon India Awards 2019 winners announced

The Maruti Suzuki Arena ComicCon India Awards 2019 have been announced at the second edition of Pop Culture Forum. As part of the awards, ComicCon India felicitated Raj Comics for their exceptional contribution to India comics over the years.

The winners in various categories were announced, ranging from Best Film and TV promotion to Fan Favourite Publisher and Best Comic Book Cover to Best Webcomic. The comic fraternity looks out for Comic Con every year. Catching up with fellow comic artists and others from the industry is what the guests look forward to.

Here is the list of the 2019 ComicCon Award winners:

Fan Favourite Publisher:

Simon and Schuster India – Gold

Scholastic India – Silver

Penguin Random House India – Bronze

The Best Webcomic:

Bakarmax by Sumit Kumar – Gold

Brown Paperbag by Sailesh Gopalan – Silver

The Circus by Abhinav Krishna – Bronze

Best Comic Book Cover:

Amar Chitra Katha’s Shakti – Gold

Penguin Random House India’s The Cloudfarers – Silver

Village Comic’s Zero: An Indian Alien’s Adventure – Bronze

Best Children’s Illustrated Book

Boondi – Gold

The Girl Who went to the Stars – Silver

Maccher Jhol and Nani’s Walk to the Park – Bronze

Best Graphic Novel/Comic:

Ashoka: The Mauryan Emperor – Gold

Shakti – Silver

Shaitan – Bronze

Best Penciller/Inker:

Rajesh Nagulakonda (Ashoka: The Mauryan Emperor) – Gold

Harsho Mohan Chattoraj (Shaitan Vol. 5) – Silver

Abhijeet Kini (Rhyme Fighters Vol 3) – Bronze

Best Comic Book Writer:

Tripti Nainwal (APJ Abdul Kalam) – Gold

Anupam Arunachalam (Ashoka: The Mauryan Emperor) – Silver

Zafar Khurshid and Akshay Dhar (Holy Hell Vol 5) and Ashwin Kalmane (Aadhira Mohi Vol 1) – Bronze

“Feels great to win this award for our very own Rhyme Fighters Vol 3. This is a series very special to Diksha and I, since this is based on everyday people in our lives, around the city. Also, it feels really good to have won the award in a category full of such talented artists!,” said Abhijeet Kini Studios founder Abhijeet Kini.

Bakarmax creator Sumit Kumar added, “I have written and drawn two graphic novels, but have suffered to find a space for slightly long stories on social media. Social media only offers space to tell 4-panel jokes. With Bakarmax I wanted to create a space to write slightly longer, funny stories. Me and 21 other cartoonists published our stories, akin to mini graphic novels, on Bakarmax. This award is a collective win for all of us.”

Heartiest congratulations winners! Keep making the Indian comic industry proud!