February 6-2019
‘Avengers: Infinity War’ bags Visual Effects Society Awards’s Top Prize

Avengers: Infinity War was awarded the trophy for outstanding VFX in a photoreal feature plus three additional trophies for an animated character.

Also, Tuesday at the 17th VES Awards, held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, Ready Player One earned two trophies, for best-created environment (for The Shining’s Overlook Hotel) and virtual cinematography, while First Man claimed the award for outstanding supporting VFX in a photoreal feature.

Infinity War, Ready Player One and First Man, along with Solo: A Star Wars Story and Christopher Robin are nominated for the Academy Award in VFX.

In six of the last 10 years, the winner in the outstanding VFX in a photo-real feature category went on to win the Oscar in VFX. Once, in 2011, the Oscar went to the winner of the VES Award for supporting VFX (Hugo).

During the ceremony, a lifetime achievement award was bestowed upon Illumination founder/CEO Chris Meledandri; the Visionary Award went to Jonathan Nolan, and the Award for Creative Excellence was presented to David Benioff and D.B. Weiss.

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse swept the animated feature categories winning four awards including best VFX in an animated feature, best-animated character (Miles Morales), created environment (graphic New York City) and effects simulations.

Evan Rachel Wood presented the Visionary Award to Nolan, while Steve Carell, initially wearing a Gru mask, presented to Meledandri. In his acceptance speech, Meledandri said, “Everyday we all join a noble mission. We contribute our creativity and craft to bring joy into the lives of audiences”

The complete list of winners:-

WINNER – Avengers: Infinity War
Daniel DeLeeuw
Jen Underdahl
Kelly Port
Matt Aitken
Daniel Sudick

Christopher Robin
Chris Lawrence
Steve Gaub
Michael Eames
Glenn Melenhorst
Chris Corbould

Ready Player One
Roger Guyett
Jennifer Meislohn
David Shirk
Matthew Butler
Neil Corbould

Solo: A Star Wars Story
Rob Bredow
Erin Dusseault
Matt Shumway
Patrick Tubach
Dominic Tuohy

Welcome to Marwen
Kevin Baillie
Sandra Scott
Seth Hill
Marc Chu
James Paradis

We hope these awards really bring out the best of talents in the VFX industry and give impetus to more landmark projects that dazzle us out of our minds.